Celebration of 58th “PRATISTHA DIVAS”

July 15, 2022 @ 9:00 am - 10:30 am
Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

Digboi College celebrated the 58th “Pratistha Divas” on 15th July 2022 at the college campus. The celebration starts at 9.00 a.m. with the flag hoisting ceremony hoisted by Dr. Dip Saikia, Principal, along with Mr. H.N. Sarma, President of Governing Body, and Dr. Arun Chandra Dutta, Vice-Principal of Digboi College in presence of all the honorable faculty members, workaholic office & support staff, students, and others. The historical events and the sacrifices made by the people who wanted a higher education institution in this remort part of the country because of which the college stands at this distinguishable position were remembered and appreciated by the college on this occasion.

Two meritorious students of Digboi College were felicitated by Digboi College for securing the highest marks in Economics subject in the AHSEC by Dhritiman Bhattacharjee with 99 marks and Silpi Sikha Sonowal for securing the highest percentage of marks in the HS final exams within the college. Further, Dr. Dip Saikia, Principal of the college, delivered a speech on the history of Digboi College from its year of establishment. The first advisory ad-hoc governing body committee was organized in a public meeting at AOD (IOCL) School premises by some eminent personalities like educationists, social workers, and visionaries, such as Shri Satya Jiban Paul, Shri Krishna Prasad Baruah, Shri Dwijesh Chandra Deb Sarma, and others. Shri Tarun Chandra Goswami, the then DFO of Digboi Forest Division, was the first governing body President of Digboi College, and Shri Miraj Hussain, a social worker, was the secretary of the body.

On 15th July 1965, Digboi College started its first class at Soumar Vidyapith School in two shifts, morning and evening, in the Arts stream under the guidance of Mrs. Sarna Lata Gogoi as Principal i/c. From 2nd September 1965, Mr. B.N. Choudhury took the charge of Principal i/c. In 1969, the Arts stream was under government deficit, followed by the science stream in 1974, and in the year 1983 department of commerce was established.  The current principal, Dr. Dip Saikia, is the 14th Principal of Digboi College, and Dr. Arun Chandra Dutta is the 15th Vice-Principal of Digboi College.

The college now has 20 departments and 17 programs distributed in 4 streams. The college is functioning with a total strength of 73 teachers, 31 office & support staff, and 2000+ students. The college also introduced PG level in Physics, Life Sciences (Botany and Zoology), and 3-year Bachelor Degree Course in Small Tea Garden Management and Tourism and Hospital Management with multi exit and entry mode along with many add-on courses.

It is also worth mentioning that National Service Scheme (NSS) was established in the year 1969 along with the rest of the Indian colleges and Universities on 24th September 1969 under the supervision of Mr. Rafiq Hussain as Programme Officer of NSS, followed by Mr. Gias Uddin Ahmed as next Programme Officer. Currently, Digboi College has 3 active units of NSS with 300 plus students working in the social sector in many villages. The NSS Unit has also been awarded 2 National Awards by the President of India, 6 state awards from the Chief Minister of Assam, and 11 awards under Dibrugarh University. Mr. Rajib Rudra Tariang, Dr. Kishor Haloi, and Dr. Nabadweep Chamua are the current Programme Officers of each unit. Dr. Kanchan Konwar is the Lieutenant of the 26 Company Battalion of NCC of Digboi College with the boys and girls wing.

জয়তু ডিগবৈ মহাবিদ্যালয়, জয় আই অসম, জয় হিন্দ |



July 15, 2022
9:00 am - 10:30 am
Event Categories:


Auditorium, Digboi College