Department of MATHEMATICS

Welcome to Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics has been one of the major Departments right from the inception of the college in 1965 and offers undergraduate courses in Mathematics. The Department has been striving its best for academic and personal excellence. The fundamental philosophy of the Department is to inculcate not only intellect and creativity among our students through their active engagement in academic activities but to realize their extra-academic and extra-curricular disposition as well, critical for making a productive member of the society. Each faculty member closely monitors every student throughout the academic year in classes, tutorials, internal mid-term, and final examinations. Our students are also encouraged to take peer tuition in and out-class vis-à-vis the active participation of the faculty members. In November 2020 two of our department students have been selected for the NSS Pre Republic Day Parade Camp 2020 organized by the Regional Directorate of NSS, Bhubaneswar (Odisha). In 2022 one of our students got qualified for JAM and has been admitted to IIT Mandi. The Department has grown from its humble beginnings and now has 5 Faculty Members out of which three are Ph.D., one M. Phil holder, and one Ph.D.(pursuing).


Programmes Offered

BSc in Mathematics

Learn more

Higher Secondary

Learn more

Department of Mathematics

At a Glance

Year of Establishment

B. Sc. in Mathematics: 1965



Student Strength

Enrollment Capacity:: UG — 165 

Current Student Strength:

  • 2nd Sem :-> 16
  • 4th Semester:->31
  • 6th Semester:-> 15

Staff record

No. of Faculty — 5

contact details

Postal Address: Department of Mathematics

                          Digboi College, Digboi, Tinsukia

                          Assam 786171

Email id: hodmathdigboicollege[at]


Faculty Profile

Dr. Jatindra Lahkar

Year of Joining: 2002

Associate Professor, HEAD

Specialization: Fluid Mechanics, Relativity

Mukul Buragohain

Year of Joining: 2008

Assistant Professor

Specialization: Number Theory, Fuzzy Set

Dr. Binod Chetry

Year of Joining: 2020

Assistant Professor

Specialization: Graph Theory & Relativity

Dr. Arjun Singh Chetry

Year of Joining: 2021

Assistant Professor

Specialization: Algebra & Number Theory

Ms. Anindita Mahanta

Year of Joining: 2022

Assistant Professor

Specialization: Bio Mechanics, Numerical Analysis


Digboi College is proud of all the rank holders and wishes them the best.

Curricular Aspects


As per the regulation of Dibrugarh University and DHE, Assam the eligibility criteria for various courses are as follows:

  • Minimum 60% average marks + 60% marks in concerned subject in HS or equivalent (10+2) examination in any discipline recognised by DU + Marks obtained in concerned subject in the Entrance Exam conducted by the college.
Higher Secondary:
  • Minimum 60% average mark in 10th or equivalent from any recognized board.


As per the regulation of Dibrugarh University, the course structures are as follows:

BSc in Mathematics Honors
  • Sl. No. Course No. of Papers Theory + Practical Theory+ Tutorial
    1 Core Course 14 14 x 4 = 56 14 x 5 = 70
    2 Core Course Practical/Tutorial* 14 14 x 2 = 28 14 x 1 = 14
    3 A.1. Discipline Specific Elective 4 4 x 4 = 16 4 x 5 = 20
    4 A.2. Discipline Specific Elective Practical/Tutorial* 4 4 x 2 = 8 4 x 1 = 4
    5 B.1. Generic Elective/ Interdisciplinary 4 4 x 4 = 16 4 x 5 = 20
    6 B.2. Generic Elective Practical/Tutorial* 4 4 x 2 = 8 4 x 1 = 4
    7 Ability Enhancement Compulsory 3 3 x 2 = 6 3x 2 = 6
    8 Ability Enhancement Elective(Skill Based) 2 2x 2 = 4 2 x 2 = 4
    9 Total 49 142 142
  • Optional Dissertation or project work in place of one Discipline Specific Elective paper (6 credits) in the 6th Semester.
  • Institute should evolve a system/policy about ECA/ General Interest/Hobby/Sports/NCC/NSS/related courses on its own.
  • *Wherever there is a practical there will be no tutorial and vice-versa.


Departmental Celebration

Pi-Day Celebration 2022

National Mathematics Day 2021

Department Activities

Parents Teacher Meet

Farewell 2022

Departmental Gallery